## MINUTES OF THE PROCEEDINGS OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AYLESBURY VALE DISTRICT COUNCIL

### 17 MAY 2017

**PRESENT:** Councillor J Bloom (Chairman); Councillors S Renshell (Vice-Chairman), B Adams, C Adams, M Bateman, J Blake, N Blake, A Bond, S Bowles, J Brandis, B Chapple OBE, S Chapple, J Chilver, A Christensen, A Cole, S Cole, M Edmonds, B Everitt, P Fealey, B Foster, N Glover, A Harrison, M Hawkett, K Hewson, T Hunter-Watts, T Hussain, A Huxley, S Jenkins, R Khan, R King, S Lambert, A Macpherson, T Mills, L Monger, G Moore, H Mordue, S Morgan, R Newcombe, C Paternoster, C Poll, G Powell, M Rand, B Russel, E Sims, M Smith, Sir Beville Stanier Bt, P Strachan, R Stuchbury, D Town, J Ward, W Whyte and M Winn.

**APOLOGIES:** Councillors P Agoro, C Branston, M Collins, P Cooper, P Irwin, N Lewis and M Stamp.

#### JESS LENTHALL

Prior to the commencement of the meeting, all present stood in silent tribute to memory of Jess Lenthall, Rating and Recovery Officer, who had tragically passed away recently.

#### WEBCASTING

Again, prior to the start of the meeting, the Chairman reminded everyone present that the meeting would be broadcast live to the internet and be capable of repeated viewing.

Members of the audience who did not wish to be on camera were invited to move to a marked area at the side of the chamber.

# 1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Proposed by Councillor Mills and seconded by Councillor Poll:-

"That Councillor Mrs S Renshell be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year."

There being no other nominations, it was

RESOLVED -

That Councillor Mrs S Renshell be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Councillor Mrs Renshell, having accepted the appointment, duly made and signed the Declaration required by the Local Government Act, 1972, and expressed thanks for her election.

### Councillor Mrs Renshell in the Chair.

# 2. VOTE OF THANKS

Proposed by Councillor Mrs Renshell, duly seconded and

RESOLVED -

That the sincere thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Mrs Bloom for her distinguished service as Chairman of the Council for the last two years.

Councillor Mrs Bloom addressed the Council in response to the sentiments expressed. A past Chairman's badge was presented to Councillor Mrs Bloom who in turn presented a small gift to her partner.

# 3. APPOINTMENT OF VICE CHAIRMAN

Proposed by Councillor Mrs Renshell and seconded by Councillor Hewson:-

"That Councillor Mrs J Brandis be appointed Vice Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year."

There being no other nominations, it was

RESOLVED – That Councillor Mrs Brandis be appointed Vice Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Councillor Mrs Brandis, having accepted the appointment, duly made and signed the Declaration required by the Local Government Act, 1972, and expressed thanks for her appointment.

## 4. MINUTES

RESOLVED -

That the Minutes of the meeting of Council held on 22 February, 2017, be approved as a correct record.

### 5. BY ELECTIONS: ELMHURST AND WENDOVER & HALTON WARDS

The Director with responsibility for finance, on behalf of the Returning Officer, informed Members that Susan Morgan had been elected as a District Councillor for the Elmhurst Ward at the by-election held on 6 April, 2017, and that Richard Newcombe had been elected as a District Councillor for the Wendover and Halton Ward at the by-election held on 4 May, 2017.

### 6. COMMITTEE MEETINGS

At the conclusion of the business of full Council, the Committees of the Council met for the purposes of appointing Chairmen and Vice Chairmen.